Skip to content

Overrun by murlocs

May 15, 2016

I have recently limited the amount of time I put into Hearthstone and that is in large part thanks to TinyCo’s money-grabber Avengers Academy, but also partly because I can not bother to keep up with Hearthstone’s new cards and rules brought about by their “Whispers of the Old Gods” expansion. But, for at least a few hands a day, Blizzard’s addictive card games remains a constant distraction from my daily chores and responsibilities. My reduced playing time makes losses like these all the more hearth-breaking (that is a typo, but I decided to leave it as a punny mistake). The outcome of the following game is unfortunate, but the roller coaster ride along the way is what makes it so hard to stop playing Hearthstone after you have finished a game.

One of my favorite deck styles to play in Hearthstone is a Deathrattle Hunter and WotOG provided me with Princess Huhuran, a new legendary beast to boost my Hunter deck. I have played a few games with her in my deck since crafting her and finally got the perfect chance to combo her with Sylvanas Windrunner, who steals an opponent’s minion when her Deathrattle triggers, and Baron Rivendare who doubles a friendly minion’s Deathrattle activation. Things were about to get good.

princess-huhuran-en-ussylvanasbaron-rivendare

IMG_0443

I am formally starting a campaign to change Sylvanas’ card dialogue to “Yoink” when her Deathrattle activates. The Addled Grizzly Druid card is a nice beast drop created by the Hunter’s reliable Webspinner friend. The bear even helps by buffing the Sludge Belchers’ leave-behinds, and sometimes you get two slimes thanks to the Baron!

addledgrizzlywebspinner sludge-belcherIMG_0444

Well played Orion, whoever you are. After wiping my board with a Wild Pyromancer and Consecration, I was fending off a swarm of murlocs thanks to the Paladin’s Anyfin Can Happen card. I will never put that much faith in murlocs! Mmrrgghgh!!

wild_pyromancerConsecration(260)anyfin

IMG_0445

It’s cool, I’ve got this. To me my beast friends! WotOG’s new Call of the Wild card proved pretty invaluable during a recent arena run. So far it seems like three minions, including a 5-charge and a 4-taunt, can effectively turn the tide late in a game.

Call_of_the_WildIMG_0446

Victory is within my beast companion’s jaws… only to be snatched away by an Equality spell (like that’s ever a good thing) and another Consecration. Balls.

equalityIMG_0447

And then there’s Dr. Boom, coming in with his two bombs; too little, too late. I am laid low by a puny 1/1 Silver Hand Recruit.

drboom silverhandrecruit

IMG_0448

 

Back to the Deathrattle Drawingboard!

 

From → Games

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment