Skip to content

The King of Tysons – The Least Sickly of 2014.

February 15, 2015

IMG_2209I have a lot to celebrate when it comes to the year 2014. At the beginning of the year I struck out on my own and moved into a cozy, one bedroom apartment. Up to that point in my life I had never lived alone, and though I grew overly concerned about robbers and choking to death, I could not have been happier. My new pad sat in the heart of Tysons Corner, “America’s Next Great City” according to the signs that started popping up around the area, and it brought me closer to my work’s office building in McLean, Virginia. I ditched the daily Northern Virginian gridlock and began walking to work, saving time, money and my sanity.

After graduating college more than 10 years ago, I worked various jobs in the Tysons area before settling on my current career seven years ago. This apartment marked the first time I lived in the 22102 zip code. It did not take long after for me to dub myself the King of Tysons. I always favored the Tysons Corner Center mall, but now it seemed to exist solely for my entertainment. The AMC IMAX became my own personal theater room which I graciously shared with the visitors to my domain. The many restaurants around the area served as my various caterers, providing me with whatever dish I desired (thankfully, they finally opened a Chick-fil-A). The Silver Line metro, which began running late in the year, posed as my royal carriage and transported me around the Washington, DC Beltway. My reign over McLean, while not officially acknowledged by others, brought great change and prosperity to the area.

Like all good rulers, I tried to be a man of the people and provided directions or help when I came across a lowly serf in need. However, I spent most of my time barricaded in my quarters at the Post Tysons Corner apartments, a modest castle atop a small bluff. It was my sanctuary where I enjoyed the bulk of my 2014 entertainment. Inside my private chambers, I horded riches and ruled over the only subjects I could actually control: my Disney Infinity figures. Throughout the year, I focused on completing collections and expanding my royal treasury with more books, comics, toys and games than ever before. And while 2014 still had some downsides, my first year reigning as the King of Tysons proved propitious.

My 14 Favorite Things from the Year 2014.

1) Favorite Character(s): Jaina Proudmoore and Vol’jin. After stepping away from the World of Warcraft a few years ago, I decided to spend part of 2014 catching up on the land and characters I had abandoned. Motivated by playing Blizzard’s amazing card game set in the Warcraft universe, I started researching what had transpired in Azeroth after the Cataclysm which reshaped the world. And boy did I miss a lot.

Jaina ProudmooreI always favored the Horde as led by the orc Warchief Thrall, but my preference towards magic-wielders continued to draw me to the human mage Jaina Proudmoore. Jaina represented my favorite member of the Alliance, and despite belonging to opposing factions, Jaina and Thrall had a history of friendship that made me happy. All that changed, however, when Thrall stepped down as Warchief and left Garrosh Hellscream in charge of the Horde.

The new, brash ruler twisted the Horde into a tool for his war-mongering. His barbaric acts turned the once-diplomatic Jaina into a wicked witch hellbent on the Horde’s destruction. In the end, with the aid of the Alliance, the true heroes of the Horde such as Vol’jin, the leader of the Darkspear trolls, staged a rebellion and triumphed over Garrosh. The Horde members raised Vol’jin, one of the few characters who had openly defied Garrosh’s rule, to position of Warchief. Vol’jin, who survived an earlier assassination attempt ordered by Garrosh, would see to it that the Horde would survive Garrosh’s schemes as well.

Vol'jin2) Favorite Book: Jaina Proudmoore: Tides of War. I have found the best way to keep up with the history of Azeroth is to read through the prose novels that flesh out the game’s story. Unfortunately, I had not cracked a WoW book since reading Thrall: Twilight of the Aspects. Since then, Blizzard had released three more books which supplemented the Mists of Pandaria game expansion. Naturally, I had to add these to my library.

Two of the books could have provided a bit more insight to some key moments in WoWVol’jin: Shadows of the Horde detailed the troll’s time in Pandaria as he recovered from a slit throat; War Crimes covered Garrosh’s trial following his downfall. I would have appreciated more focus on certain events such as the desecration of the Vale of Eternal Blossoms or the Siege of Orgrimmar. Those two books left me wanting, but Tides of War, which takes place chronologically before the other two books, satisfied my itch for WoW lore.

I wanted to cry with Jaina after Garrosh dropped the mana bomb on her town of Theramore, obliterating her friends and the city she called home. I shook my fist at every act of villainy committed in Garrosh’s name, such as the Razor Hill Inn explosion. Author Christie Golden – who wrote Tides and War Crimes, among other Horde-centric books – has played a big role in turning Garrosh into one of my most hated characters in all of fiction.

3) Favorite Game: Hearthstone: Heroes of Warcraft. My obsession with Azeroth began again when I started playing Hearthstone on a more regular basis. I enjoyed the game so much I broke down and bought an iPad to better accommodate my new hobby. Hearthstone has similar mechanics to the popular Magic: the Gathering card game – which also relies on minions, spells and resources – so it is easy and familiar to play. I am also a fan of digital card games since it makes it easier to challenge friends and build decks.

Hearthstone‘s biggest draw to me is its use of the Warcraft universe. Fans of Blizzard games, the creators of Warcraft and Hearthstone, know to expect a fun experience with plenty to do and see. Players can tap around the board when they are bored and do little things like launch bombs or ignite rockets. The sounds and character sayings when the cards are played are the best example of the attention to detail. I am particularly fond of the Cairne Bloodhoof card telling Garrosh that he is “not fit to rule the Horde.”

I’m apparently awful at this game though.

IMG_10354) Favorite Social Freemium Game: The Simpsons: Tapped Out. Before I bought my iPad, I spent more time rebuilding the town of Springfield instead of exploring Azeroth. For the first half of the year, I used Tapped Out to distract myself while watching television, bored on the train, or just too lazy to get out of bed. My version of the Simpsons’ hometown was awesome. I maintained the max level while playing and I built as much as I could without having to buy the premium items. I always meant to kick the developers money for donuts since I devoted some serious time to their game, but I didn’t, so I never unlocked key buildings like Barney’s Bowlarama or  Hank Scorpio’s Volcano Lair. D’oh!

5) Favorite Board Game: Settlers of Catan. I purchased Settlers during the Christmas 2013 holiday season after hearing positive reviews from my sister. I figured it would be an enjoyable game for my competitive family to play at get-togethers. The strategy behind the game hooked me instantaneously. Shortly afterwards, I introduced the game to a friend and ever since we have had a standing weekly game. The basic game is intended for three-four players, but we have worked around that need and sculpted the perfect two person variation. We have incorporated money, to give the games more meaning, as well as a timer to keep the games under a manageable 30 minutes. I am fairly certain that I possessed the better record by the end of the year.

IMG_14326) Favorite Toy: Disney Infinity 2.0 – Marvel Heroes Figures. These figures are the toys I have waited for ever since Disney announced the first edition of their Infinity game series. I have not played the actual game much, besides messing around in the Toy Box and running through Spider-Man’s playset as the webslinger, but these figures look great sitting atop my entertainment center. I am missing a few Marvel characters, like Hawkeye and Drax, but the dozen that I own are joined by my Disney figures including the new Donald Duck and Aladdin. I fully expect this collection to grow, especially with the inevitable Star Wars expansion.

7) Favorite Comic Book Series: The Superior Spider-Man. I do not fault anybody for hating the “Doc Ock takes over Spider-Man’s body” angle; it left us with no real Peter Parker story for a long time. I rejoiced when Superior came to an end, and perhaps knowing there was an end coming added to the anticipation I felt when a new issue hit the stands. I enjoyed the conclusion of the series, which pitted Otto Octavius against Norman Osborn and his Goblin Nation. It put a unique spin on the Spider-Goblin dynamic, although I did not like the twist in the end concerning Osborn’s plastic surgery. In the end, I appreciated Otto admitting defeat and relinquishing the body back to Peter’s subconscious.

The Superior Foes of Spider-Man, a quasi-companion series, presented a great look at how Otto mistreated some of Spidey’s C-list rogues. One of my favorite issues showed several villains attending a support group. Many wondered why Spider-Man no longer seemed the same. A few admitted to viewing their skirmishes with the original wise-cracking, wallcrawler as a game, but not anymore.

8) Favorite Comic Book Event: “Spider-Verse.” While the event had not ended before the start of the new year, the build-up and kick-off has been thrilling. This alternate universe-spanning Spidey story involves Spider-characters from all over the Marvel Multi-verse. Whether you are a fan of Ultimate Spider-Man or Spider-Man 2099, girl spiders or punk spiders, there is  a Spider-hero for you. Writer Dan Slott and other contributors have kept the stories fun, even while killing off popular versions of Spider-Man. Early fatalities include the characters from the Spider-Man and his Amazing Friends television show and Peter Parquagh, the Spider-Man from Neil Gaiman’s 1602 story. One of my favorite moments came when the real Peter Parker confronted and outsmarted his Superior counterpart.

Spider Verse

Normally, I also do not care about Morlun, one of the main antagonists in “Spider-Verse,” but so far I have enjoyed him in this event. Writer J. Michael Straczynski created Morlun back in 2001 when the scribe indicated that Spider-Man’s origins had more basis in mysticism than science. That did not sit well with me. But, for some reason, Slott explaining that Morlun and his family have hunted animal-based totems throughout history has really worked well in this event.

IMG_12989) Favorite Movie: Captain America: The Winter Soldier. Marvel had an immensely successful year at the box office. The star-spangled sequel to Captain America turned Chris Evans into a bona fide badass and turned the Marvel Cinematic Universe on its head. This movie had a lot to like, including the introduction of Sam Wilson, Falcon; the budding friendship between Cap and Black Widow; the lovely Washington, DC scenery; and of course, the internet’s “Hail Hydra” memes that spun out of the film’s climax. The Winter Soldier also benefited by focusing on the hero’s fighting prowess more than Cap’s first film foray. The action blew me away from the beginning, when Cap infiltrated a compromised S.H.I.E.L.D. ship, and escalated throughout the movie. One of my favorite scenes involved Steve Rogers taking down a Quinjet with a few well-placed shield throws.

The Winter Soldier did more than keep the MCU moving forward; it changed the status quo of the universe. The movie slightly foreshadowed the upcoming Dr. Strange film and caused ripple effects felt in other properties such as Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. The twist in The Winter Soldier greatly improved the quality of ABC’s sci-spy television series. Since then, the show has picked up its pace and been rewarded. Marvel has shown confidence in the show and tasked it with handling a big part of the MCU: the introduction of the Inhumans.

10) Favorite Show Which Ended: How I Met Your Mother. The story of Ted Mosby’s quest to find true love reached its conclusion after 208 episodes. For nine seasons, I foolishly followed Ted as he navigated the pitfalls of the dating world accompanied by his loyal quartet of friends. I say “foolishly” because I actually believed the story was about this great love known as “The Mother.” In the end, “the Mother” did not seem too important, no matter how perfect she was for Ted. Like Ted, I could not help but fall in love with her.

Sadly, the show wound up being all about another character. One that the writers spent years convincing me was not the right fit for Ted. I admittedly prefer the typical “happily ever after” ending, but as many defenders of the show’s end have pointed out, life is not always perfect. So I am a bit disappointed in the finale, but not with the overall series. The ending can not erase the show’s pop culture impact,  and I will still watch reruns for its great catchphrases, jokes and iconic characters.

SW Clone Wars11) Favorite Streaming Show: Star Wars: The Clone Wars. Unlike much of fandom, I am soft on the Star Wars prequel films. In fact, I enjoy most of Episodes II and III and even think Episode I has a few redeeming qualities. Sure there are missteps, but what mega-franchise does not have a few bumps in the road. And a lot of these issues are solved by watching the Clone Wars animated series. Netflix released the complete series in 2014, so I had to watch the show, book-ended by Episode II and III of course.

I enjoyed this series a lot and felt that the first episode alone did more to explain the Dark Side’s evil plans than the movies ever did. Anakin Skywalker shined as a Jedi Knight for once, as the show displayed his adept skills with a lightsaber, spaceship and the Force. Obi-Wan Kenobi, wonderfully based on Ewan McGregor’s film portrayal – possibly the greatest thing about the prequels – had several moments to shine, including a heartbreaking scene similar to one in Moulin Rogue!, in which McGregor also starred. Even R2-D2 showed me how cool a battle between two astromech droids could be. From now on, it will  be hard to watch the Star Wars film series without including this six season series.

12) Favorite Show: Game of Thrones. What more is there to say about this show? HBO continued to demolish ratings and fan’s emotional states of mind. The series killed off more than one fan-favorite character in the fourth season, leaving many fans crying their eyes out – which is better than having them gouged out if the show is any indication. However, book author George R.R. Martin balanced the scales this time out and a few hated characters received their comeuppance. The season ended with the cast scattered throughout their world, setting up new conflicts between characters in new surroundings.

13) Favorite Podcast: The Big O and Dukes Show. Since I began walking to work and skipping the hour-long commutes, I stopped listening to as many podcasts. Although, I did manage to keep up with one local show. The Big O and Dukes Show started off as a terrestrial radio show in the Washington, D.C. area. It covered video games, snack foods, Star Wars and anything else that permeated pop culture. Oscar Santana and Chad Dukes, the hosts of the show, turned their program into a podcast, where they are joined by their producer Matt “Drab T-shirt” Cahill, and a motley collection of friends of the show.

Dukes invests in things like comics and games, so I enjoy listening mainly to hear his opinion on geek news, even if I disagree with his assessment at times. It is also a treat to hear the Big O talk about the local hot spots in Northern Virginia, especially the “tech corridor” in Manassas – because having lived there, I know it is anything but. This past year I even managed to support a few of their live events hosted at the Mad Fox Brewing Company. Mad Fox even crafts a few Big O and Dukes-inspired brews in support of the show.

Bastion14) Favorite Album(s): Bastion: Original Soundtrack and Bleachers – Strange Desire. According to Spotify, the soundtrack to the video game Bastion received most of my attention throughout 2014. That’s a good thing, because it indicates I spent a lot of 2014 writing. The music from Bastion, composed by Darren Korb, blends typical fantasy chords with modern electronic beats and successfully evokes “both the American frontier and an exotic fantasy world.” It served as the perfect, inspirational background music for my infrequent writing sessions.

The more traditional album award goes to Bleachers and their first album, Strange Desire. Jack Antonoff, member of the band fun. and formerly Steel Train, crafted the music in secret for more than a year before releasing the first single “I Wanna Get Better” in February 2014. The rest of the album came later in the year and offered up catchy tunes such as “Rollercoaster,” “Shadow” and “You’re Still a Mystery.”

 *

Honorable Mentions: I did not have an easy time whittling down this list since I procured a lot of new goodies for my royal treasury in 2014. I purchased some Micro Machines Star Wars playsets from Amazon, so now Darth Vader and Yoda have joined the Boba Fett set I had as a child. I then decided to complete my collection of Disney Adventures magazines. I bought the few missing issues I needed to complete the first several volumes when the publication was still entertaining. My royal library grew beyond just Warcraft novels and Disney digests for children. I also picked up the novelization of Marvel’s “Civil War” event. I enjoyed reading the book despite the use of a post-“Brand New Day” Spider-Man who never married Mary Jane.

I expanded my movie collection to include Blu-rays thanks to my new-in-2014 Xbox One. Movie runner-ups like Guardians of the Galaxy, the year’s biggest blockbuster, and Fox’s take on the X-Men’s “Days of Future Past” story joined my movie library. There was something morbidly satisfying about seeing Halle Berry’s Storm get impaled by a Sentinel. I even really enjoyed the new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles movie which many people disliked.

Wilfred,  another show I enjoyed watching, ended this past year. I found the series to be hit or miss, but loved the premise of a man who saw his neighbor’s pet as a guy in a dog suit. It hit me right in the feels when they showed the real dog in the final episodes.

Chris Carrabba, of Dashboard Confessional fame, released a self-titled album for his new side project, Twin Forks. It turned out to be a decent late-in-the-year contender for favorite album, but fell short. It featured several enjoyable songs for the hopeless romantics out there, like me and Ted Mosby.

From → Books, Comics, Games, Movies, Music, TV

One Comment
  1. Considerably, the post is in reality the finest on that laudable topic. I fit in with your conclusions and can eagerly look forward to your incoming updates. Saying thanks definitely will not simply just be enough, for the outstanding clarity in your writing. I will certainly at once grab your rss feed to stay privy of any kind of updates. Pleasant work and also much success in your business efforts!

Leave a comment